Web Sites to Keep the Creative Juices Flowing – Ana White

One of the ways I try to stay creative is through woodworking.  My dad was into woodworking as a hobby when I was younger and I have quite a few memories of the projects he built for the house outside.  I’m not as good or as interested in it as he is but I’ve amassed a decent collection of power tools and inherited a few from my dad when downsized to a condo in the city.  If there’s something I don’t have, I’m fortunate to have a few friends with nice collections of their own.

I’m not the greatest and my projects have their flaws but I like building things for my daughters rather than buying them if possible.  The amount of effort I put into them doesn’t really offset the savings but I like the idea that they’re playing with something their dad built for them.  So far I’ve made a grocery store playset, a swing set, and a bed and I’ve got my eye on a couple other projects for this summer.

Note the little version of her bed to the left. While we were waiting for some of the wood putty to dry, she and I built a mini version for her dolls using some of the kids tools we bought from Lowes. I eyeballed the grocery store and the swing set but I used plans from Ana White for the bed and for some of the future projects I’m working on.  It’s a great resource for people who are just starting to get into woodworking with usually simple to follow instructions.  Each plan comes with a materials and tools list and images to help you along in the process.

Leave a comment

Filed under Creativity, Dad

Leave a Reply

