What I’ve been doing with my Summer “vacation”

After the school year ended I took some much needed time (about a week) to do nothing and deflate before the Summer season officially kicked in.  Having another kid around the house has meant not getting nearly as much done as I’d like but I’m trying.

  1. Summer School.  Since 1996 I’ve been teaching summer and sometimes winter classes for The Center For Gifted.  This year I’m doing three sessions at the Summer Wonders program in Buffalo Grove. We just moved into a new building which has been nice because it’s in my own school district. This means I have a lot more control over and access to the technology I want to use.  We just finished our first session where I taught a class on Podcasting for the first time.  I think it was mostly a success although I’ve already thought of some new ideas for next year if we do it again. As usual, my students surprised me with some of the clever ideas they incorporated into their work.  Next up is a class on creating computer games in Scratch.
  2. Reading.  Still waaaay behind on this one but Im trying hard to catch up on all the books and comics that have been piling up while I haven’t had time to read them. I finally managed to trudge through the Hunger Games Trilogy (not impressed) and am not working on the latest Andrew Vachss novel before the next one comes out in a week or two and hope to finish the latest Darwyn Cooke Parker adaptation this afternoon.  Then there’s a whole bunch of comics to get through somehow.
  3. Writing. I’ve got three scripts due at the end of August for Grayhaven Comics.  first up is a 2 page superhero story reteaming me with MAK from my first ever published comic story (available now!), then a humorous spy story with a new artist to be named, and finally a kids fantasy story once again with MAK
  4. Movies. Also falling waaaay behind on this one. I still haven’t seen Brave, Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter, Ted, and a couple other smaller movies that are out right now.  Managed to see Spider-Man the other day which I really enjoyed but I still have a lot of catching up to do.
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

